City Garden Condo Pattaya Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
City Garden Condo Pattaya Forum

Info and Issues about City Garden Condo in Pattaya

You are not connected. Please login or register

Poor UBC reception

2 posters

Go down  Message [Page 1 of 1]

1Poor UBC reception Empty Poor UBC reception Mon Aug 02, 2010 6:20 pm

CraigT

I wanted UBC so I called them up. They came and said there was no signal. City Gardens came and ripped holes in the hallway ceiling and after a week or two of me bugging them, they said it was ready. UBC came again, signal too poor to work. They offered to help the City Garden engineer who refused their help.

I asked the UBC guys to measure the signal at the elevator shaft where if comes from the roof and they said there was plenty of signal there. I'm actually an electronics expert so I traced the signal from the elevator to my room using the holes in the ceiling.

While there is still time, we should force the issue with the developer and get proper satellite feeds to each condo. With Sophon coming, I'm not sure if they will have to run their own cabling but the current distribution method for UBC won't work for them.

The good news is that UBC did a very professional job of the satellite installation and the electronics associated with it.

Now satellite signals are not like the electricity for appliances. When you split electricity from two wires you have the same voltage but when you split satellite signals you have one half the power. From the elevator to my room the signal was split over 250 times so it would never work. Only units close to the elevator were going to get good signals.